Submission open for 2023 International Prize for Arabic Fiction


The International Prize for Arabic Fiction is delighted to announce that submissions open for the 16th edition of the prize on Friday 1 April 2022. Submissions will close on Thursday 30th June 2022.

Eligible novels must be written in Arabic and have been published for the first time between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2022.

The number of novels an eligible publisher can submit will depend on that publisher’s inclusion in longlists from 2017 to 2021, as follows:

  • 1 submission – publishers with no longlisting
  • 2 submissions – publishers with 1 or 2 longlisting(s)
  • 3 submissions – publishers with 3 or 4 longlistings
  • 4 submissions – publishers with 5 or more longlistings

The International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) is the most prestigious and important literary prize in the Arab world. The annual prize is given to a novel in Arabic which the judges consider to be the best of that year. Its aim is to reward excellence in contemporary Arabic creative writing and to encourage the readership of high quality Arabic literature internationally through the translation and publication of winning and shortlisted novels in other languages.

The 2022 winner will be announced on 22 May 2022.   

The Prize for Arabic Fiction is currently sponsored by the Abu Dhabi Arabic Language Centre, under the umbrella of the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi, and has been mentored by the Booker Prize Foundation in London.